Jill Scott, Ellen White and Anita Asante join WSL Hall of Fame

Jill Scott has been inducted into the WSL Hall of Fame

The FA and lead partner Barclays are delighted to announce that Jill Scott MBE, Ellen White MBE and Anita Asante have been inducted into the Barclays Women’s Super League Hall of Fame for 2023.

The trio were standout figures among the best female football players during their respective professional careers in England and contributed hugely to the growth of the women’s and girls’ game.

Scott, who played for Everton, Manchester City and Aston Villa, made 175 WSL appearances in total, scoring 22 goals and winning every possible domestic trophy, including four Women’s FA Cups, three Continental Tyres League Cups and one league title.

White, also England’s record goalscorer, made a total of 144 league appearances for Arsenal, Notts County, Birmingham City and Manchester City, finding the back of the net on 61 occasions – a statistic that made her the league’s all-time goalscorer at that time – and lifting nine trophies during her career.

And Asante helped set the foundations of the women’s game in England prior to the creation of the Barclays WSL, with a trophy-laden spell at Arsenal throughout the noughties, and made 47 appearances in the division’s current guise for Chelsea and Aston Villa.

All three inductees were officially unveiled at a special event at the National Football Museum in Manchester on Monday 13 November, which saw those at the heart of women’s football – clubs, media, partners, and league representatives – come together to celebrate the greatness of the Barclays WSL, its  best women’s football players and its hall of fame.

The evening follows on from the collaboration announced between the National Football Museum and Barclays WSL earlier this season to increase the representation of women’s football memorabilia at the venue.

White, Scott and Asante’s inductions were decided by the Barclays WSL Hall of Fame selection panel, which features prominent former players, coaches, and officials from the women’s game, as well as journalists and members of FA staff.

The inductees join an illustrious group of the best WSL players who have been recognised for their huge contributions and achievements at the highest level of the women’s game, including Emma Hayes, Karen Carney MBE and Kelly Smith amongst others.

The Barclays Hall of Fame Full Inductees list

2021 – Emma Hayes, Rachel Yankey, Fara Williams

2022 – Karen Carney, Katie Chapman, Eni Aluko, Kelly Smith

2023 – Jill Scott, Ellen White, Anita Asante

Share article